Sea moss gel, capsules and powder: which seaweed is in the jar, and which number is most likely to be over the limit
Share
Sea moss gel, capsules and powder: which seaweed is in the jar, and which number is most likely to be over the limit
Sea moss is sold as a gel, as capsules and as a dried powder. The name covers three different seaweeds from three parts of the world. They do not carry the same iodine, and the published measurements for two of them are thin. This article says which seaweed is which, gives the iodine and heavy-metal figures that have been published, sets out the EU and UK rows for a seaweed product in plain words, and lists what a laboratory can measure in a sea moss product and what each result establishes.
1Which seaweed is in the jar
"Sea moss" is a trade name, not a species. Three red seaweeds are sold under it.
- Chondrus crispus, also called Irish moss or carrageen moss. It grows on rocky shores on all British and Irish coasts and on both sides of the North Atlantic. In Ireland and Scotland it is gathered by hand for food: the Irish harvest of carrageen (Chondrus crispus and Mastocarpus stellatus together) was 37.5 wet tonnes in 2020, and Scottish hand-harvesting sites are recorded in Fife, Caithness, Loch Sunart, Ardnamurchan and Bute. The carrageenan industry takes its Chondrus mainly from Canada, the north-eastern United States and Brittany. It was the original source of carrageenan, the gelling substance that makes a sea moss gel set, and it is still used for that to a limited extent.
- Kappaphycus alvarezii, sold in the trade as "cottonii" and still labelled Eucheuma cottonii on many products. It is farmed in the Philippines, Indonesia and Tanzania. Its carrageenan is mainly the kappa type. Its relative Eucheuma denticulatum, "spinosum", is farmed in the same countries and gives mainly iota-carrageenan.
- Gracilaria. In St Lucia, "seamoss" has meant Gracilaria since at least the 1980s: six species were used, and four were farmed in trials. Gracilaria is a source of agar, not of carrageenan.
Which one is in a given jar is usually not stated on the label. The US Food and Drug Administration analysed 46 seaweed products bought in the United States and grouped them into 13 species by DNA. The red seaweeds in that set included "Elkhorne sea moss" (Kappaphycus alvarezii), a Eucheuma species and a Gracilaria species. We found no published study that identifies retail sea moss products species by species, so we cannot say how often a label and its contents agree.
The EU Novel Food Status Catalogue, read on 18 September 2026, records the three seaweeds differently:
- Chondrus crispus: "not novel in food".
- Eucheuma denticulatum and Gracilaria gracilis: "not novel in food supplements". For these entries the catalogue adds that other food uses "might be considered to be novel" and might need authorisation before the product can be sold as a food in the EU. Other Gracilaria entries carry other statuses, so for Gracilaria the species matters, not only the genus.
- Kappaphycus alvarezii, also searched as Eucheuma cottonii and by genus: no entry. The catalogue has no record either way.
Every entry ends with the same note: other legislation may restrict the placing on the market, and the competent authority of the Member State should be asked. Which seaweed is in the jar decides which entry applies, and a gel sold as a food is a different use from a capsule sold as a supplement.
| Seaweed | Names on labels | Where it is harvested | Main polysaccharide | Published composition, % of dry weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chondrus crispus | Irish moss, carrageen moss, sea moss | all British and Irish coasts and both sides of the North Atlantic; hand-gathered for food in Ireland and Scotland; harvested for the carrageenan industry in Canada, the north-eastern United States and France; also cultivated | carrageenan, a mixture of the kappa and lambda types; extraction yield 51 % from wild plants, 25–31 % from cultivated ones, in one Portuguese study | no range used |
| Kappaphycus alvarezii | cottonii, Eucheuma cottonii, Elkhorne sea moss | Philippines, Indonesia, Tanzania; farmed | carrageenan, mainly kappa | sulphated polysaccharides 6–67; protein 1–18; ash 5–45; carbohydrate 9–72 |
| Eucheuma denticulatum | spinosum | same countries; farmed | carrageenan, mainly iota | no figure found |
| Gracilaria species | seamoss (St Lucia) | St Lucia and Indonesia in the sources used; farmed | agar | protein 9–18; ash 5–7; carbohydrate 65–73, four Indonesian farms |
The composition column shows how wide the ranges are. The ash of Kappaphycus, which is its mineral fraction, runs from 5 to 45 % of dry weight in the published literature. The mineral content of a sea moss product is a property of the batch, not of the species.
2Iodine: sea moss is not kelp
Iodine is the first number to check for any seaweed product. The red seaweeds sold as sea moss carry far less iodine than kelp. The figures below are from Nordic monitoring data and from published surveys, measured on the dried seaweed, in milligrams per kilogram of dry weight unless the table says otherwise.
| Seaweed | Country, sample | Iodine, mg/kg dry weight | Iodine in one gram of dried seaweed, µg (arithmetic) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Red seaweeds sold as sea moss | |||
| Chondrus crispus | Denmark, raw dried | 269–285 | 269–285 |
| Chondrus crispus | Norway, raw dried | 260 (200–330) | 260 |
| "Irish moss or carrageen moss", product as sold | Norway, one product; the survey reports products on a wet-weight, as-sold basis | 16 | 16 |
| Gracilaria sp., farmed | Indonesia, four sites | 106–197 | 106–197 |
| Kappaphycus alvarezii | — | no figure found in a peer-reviewed table | — |
| Kelps, for contrast | |||
| Saccharina latissima, sugar kelp | Denmark / Norway | 1432 (361–1969) / 3700 (670–10 000) | 1432 / 3700 |
| Laminaria digitata, oarweed | Denmark / Norway | 2405 (925–5752) / 5100 (1400–10 000) | 2405 / 5100 |
The last column is arithmetic, not a measurement. One milligram per kilogram is one microgram per gram, so the iodine in one gram of dried seaweed is the concentration read as micrograms.
The safety threshold these figures are compared with is the tolerable upper intake level for iodine set by EFSA: 600 µg a day for adults. At 270 mg/kg, about 2.2 g of dried Chondrus crispus a day reaches that level. At 5100 mg/kg, one gram of Norwegian oarweed is eight and a half times that level. Sea moss is a low-iodine seaweed by kelp standards, and it still reaches the upper level at a few grams of dried seaweed a day.
A gel changes the arithmetic, not the seaweed. A gel is the dried seaweed with water added. The iodine in a serving of gel is the iodine in the dried seaweed divided by the dilution. We found no published serving size for sea moss gel, and the dilution is the maker's choice. The maker knows how many grams of dried seaweed go into a jar; the buyer usually does not. A measurement on the gel settles it.
The legal position on iodine is short. No EU or UK regulation sets a maximum level for iodine in seaweed or in supplements. Two other numbers exist. France has a recommended maximum of 2000 mg/kg dry matter for edible seaweed, set by its public health council and reproduced in a 2020 opinion of the food safety agency ANSES; it is a recommendation, not law. Germany's risk assessment institute, BfR, stated in August 2026 that an EU draft regulation under discussion would set 1 g of iodine per kg of dry matter for algae sold as food and for foods containing algae, and gave its opinion that this figure is not low enough for people who eat seaweed every day. The draft is not in force, and we did not find its text.
3The rows for a sea moss product, in plain words
The EU sets maximum levels for contaminants in a table in Annex I of Regulation (EU) 2023/915. Each line of that table names a food category and a limit. In this series we call one line a "row". Great Britain kept the earlier table, Regulation (EC) 1881/2006, with its own row numbers.
Whether a sea moss product is a "food supplement" or a "food" depends on how it is presented and sold, and that classification is the seller's. The rows differ, so both are given here.
Sold as a food supplement: capsules, or a powder in daily doses
The EU rows, in milligrams per kilogram of the product as sold:
- lead: 3.0 (row 3.1.28);
- cadmium: 1.0 (row 3.2.21.1), or 3.0 when the supplement consists of at least 80 % dried seaweed or products derived from seaweed (row 3.2.21.2);
- mercury: 0.10 (row 3.3.2);
- arsenic: no row. The inorganic-arsenic rows cover rice products, infant foods, juices and, since October 2025, fish, crustaceans, bivalves and cephalopods. None covers seaweed or supplements;
- nickel and iodine: no row for supplements.
The GB rows are the same numbers under different row numbers: lead 3.0 (3.1.22); cadmium 1.0 (3.2.21), or 3.0 for supplements "exclusively or mainly" of dried seaweed (3.2.22); mercury 0.1 (3.3.3); no arsenic, nickel or iodine row. The GB table states its levels on a wet weight basis.
The two seaweed wordings differ. A capsule of pure sea moss powder meets the 80 % test and the "exclusively or mainly" test alike. A blend that is 60 % sea moss with bladderwrack and burdock gets the 1.0 cadmium row in the EU, and in Great Britain the answer depends on how "mainly" is read.
The levels apply to the product as placed on the market. For a powder or a capsule that is the powder as sold, which is close to dry weight, so the survey figures in section 4 can be compared with the rows directly. For a gel it is the gel as sold, and section 6 gives the arithmetic.
Sold as a food: a gel eaten by the spoon, or dried whole seaweed
- lead, cadmium, mercury, arsenic: no row for seaweed as a food in the EU table;
- nickel: 30 mg/kg for seaweed (row 3.6.8.1) and 40 for wakame (row 3.6.8.2), in force since 1 July 2025. For dry seaweed the level applies to the product as sold; for fresh seaweed it applies on a dry-matter basis after washing. Whether a seaweed supplement falls under this row is not stated in the text;
- iodine: no row; the draft figure discussed in section 2 is not in force.
The EU did ask for data. Commission Recommendation (EU) 2018/464 asked Member States to monitor arsenic, cadmium, iodine, lead and mercury in seaweed and seaweed products during 2018 to 2020, and it names Irish moss among the species. That monitoring is the data collection behind any future row.
Where the EU has no row, one Member State's recommendations are a useful reference. The French recommended maxima for edible seaweed, in mg/kg dry matter, are: inorganic arsenic 3; cadmium 0.5; mercury 0.1; lead 5; tin 5; iodine 2000. They were set by the French public health council and are reproduced in the ANSES opinion of 2020. They are recommendations in France, not maximum levels in law.
One set of numbers is often quoted on sea moss pages and does not apply. The purity criteria for the food additives carrageenan (E 407) and processed Eucheuma seaweed (E 407a) are arsenic 3, lead 5, mercury 1 and cadmium 2 mg/kg. They apply to the additive as an ingredient, not to sea moss sold as a food or a supplement.
4What the surveys measured
Published measurements for the three seaweeds are uneven. Chondrus crispus has monitoring data from two Nordic countries. Kappaphycus has one small market study we could use. Gracilaria has data from farms, one of them in an urban estuary. The table gives what we found. Figures are in mg/kg dry weight unless the row says otherwise.
| Seaweed | Origin and sample | Lead | Cadmium | Mercury | Arsenic | Iodine | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red seaweeds sold as sea moss | |||||||
| Chondrus crispus | Denmark, raw dried, monitoring | 0.44–0.65 | 0.11–0.17 | 0.007 | inorganic 0.11–0.21 | 269–285 | 11 |
| Chondrus crispus | Norway, raw dried, monitoring; mean (range) | 0.35 (0.30–0.41) | 0.21 (0.14–0.28) | 0.006 (0.005–0.007) | inorganic 0.23 (0.21–0.25) | 260 (200–330) | 11 |
| Kappaphycus alvarezii | market in Bongao, Tawi-Tawi, Philippines; washed and dried in a solar dryer; flame atomic absorption; basis not stated | 2.05 | 0.40 | not measured | not measured | not measured | 15 |
| Gracilaria tikvahiae | farmed in Long Island Sound and the Bronx River, USA; highest values | up to 6.6 | up to 0.34 | — | — | — | 14 |
| Gracilaria sp. | farmed at four sites in Java and Lombok, Indonesia | — | — | — | — | 106–197 | 13 |
| 46 seaweed products of 13 species, including K. alvarezii, Eucheuma sp. and Gracilaria sp. | US market, products as sold, species by DNA; the highest values were in wakame, hijiki, nori and kombu, not in the sea moss species | up to 2.85 | up to 4.05 | — | — | — | 16, abstract and introduction only |
| Kelps and hijiki, for contrast | |||||||
| Laminaria digitata, oarweed | Norway, raw dried, monitoring; mean (range) | 0.15 | 0.38 (0.033–1.9) | 0.03 | inorganic 24 (0.06–79) | 5100 | 11 |
| Sargassum fusiforme, hijiki | Norway, monitoring | 1.6 | 2.3 | — | inorganic 59 | — | 11 |
Two things stand out in the Chondrus crispus data. First, lead, cadmium and mercury are all well under the supplement rows: the highest lead is about a fifth of its row, the highest cadmium about a quarter of the 1.0 row, and mercury about a fourteenth of its row. Second, inorganic arsenic in Chondrus is roughly a hundred times lower than the Norwegian oarweed mean and about 250 times lower than hijiki. In the Nordic data, Chondrus crispus is not a heavy-metal problem.
For Kappaphycus the picture is thin. The one study we used puts lead at 2.05 mg/kg, about two thirds of the 3.0 row, on seaweed bought at a market and dried. The study does not state whether its figures are on a dry-weight basis, and it used flame atomic absorption, a method with higher reporting limits than ICP-MS; the figure is a reading of one dried lot, not a survey. We do not know whether it is typical of the Philippine or Indonesian harvest. We read two further small studies from the Philippines and India that reported mercury above 0.3 mg/kg, and we did not use them: single samples, values read from graphs or published in a journal we do not rely on, and figures fifty times the Nordic ones without any explanation. The FDA survey holds the per-species figures that would settle the question. We had access only to its abstract.
5Which number is most likely to be over the limit
For Chondrus crispus the answer is iodine, and the threshold it meets is a health figure, not a legal one. None of the four metals in the Nordic data came near its row, while 2.2 g a day of the dried seaweed reaches the iodine upper level. That is what the data show. It is not a statement about any particular product.
For Kappaphycus and Gracilaria the candidate is lead. The Philippine Kappaphycus sample sat at two thirds of the row. The Gracilaria farmed in New York estuaries reached 6.6 mg/kg, twice the row, in water that is not where sea moss is harvested; it shows what the seaweed can take up, not what a Caribbean lot carries. This rests on two studies. We say so, and we will revise it when better data are published.
6What a laboratory can measure in a sea moss product
A laboratory does not decide whether a product is legal. It reports numbers with their uncertainty, the method and the reporting limit. The list below says what each measurement establishes and which question it answers.
| Measurement | What it establishes | Which question it answers |
|---|---|---|
| Species identity by DNA | which seaweed is in the product | whether the label is true; which Novel Food Status Catalogue entry applies; which composition to expect |
| Sugar composition and polysaccharide type | whether the gelling substance is kappa- or iota-carrageenan or agar, consistent with the named species | a product specification; a second identity check |
| Iodine, in mg/kg dry weight | the iodine in one gram of dried seaweed | the 600 µg upper level; the French recommended 2000 mg/kg; any future EU level |
| Lead, cadmium, mercury and arsenic by ICP-MS, in an accredited laboratory | the four metals as a concentration in the product | the EU and GB rows; the per-day figures of the US, Canada and Australia, converted as in Part 8 |
| Arsenic speciation | inorganic arsenic apart from the organic forms | no EU row for seaweed; the French recommended 3 mg/kg; the US, Canadian and Californian figures, which count inorganic arsenic |
| Nickel | nickel as a concentration in the product | the 30 mg/kg row for seaweed sold as food |
| Protein from amino acids, dietary fibre, ash, moisture | the composition of the batch and its dry-matter content | the nutrition declaration; the dry-matter figure that converts a gel result to a dry-weight basis |
A wet gel is also a microbiological product. Yeasts, moulds and water activity are questions of their own and are outside this article.
Of the measurements in the table, the four metals, iodine, species identification by DNA, moisture and water activity, ash and protein are listed with their prices on our seaweed testing page, together with microbiology, pesticide residues and radioactivity. Arsenic speciation and the sugar and polysaccharide profile are quoted on request through the form on the analytical services page.
Which sample to test. The iodine and the metals come with the seaweed, and the gel adds water. The dried lot, at the point where it enters the business, is the sample that answers most questions at once, and a result on it can be divided into any gel recipe. A result on the gel is useful too: the gel is the product as sold, which is the basis the EU rows use, and it needs a moisture figure beside it so that it can be compared with the dry-weight surveys in section 4.
The arithmetic for a gel, with an assumed recipe: a gel made from one part dried seaweed and nine parts water is 10 % seaweed by mass. A dried lot at 270 mg/kg iodine gives a gel at about 27 mg/kg, and a 30 g spoon of that gel carries about 810 µg of iodine, the same as the 3 g of dried seaweed it was made from. The one-to-nine ratio is an assumption chosen to show the calculation. It is not a recipe found in any source.
7One table to keep
| Seaweed | What it is | Iodine, dried, mg/kg | The number to watch | EU rows for a supplement, Pb / Cd / Hg | Where the data are thin |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chondrus crispus | Irish moss or carrageen; North Atlantic, Ireland and Scotland included; carrageenan | 200–330 (Nordic monitoring) | iodine; none of the four metals came near its row | 3.0 / 1.0, or 3.0 at 80 % seaweed or more / 0.10 | products as sold |
| Kappaphycus alvarezii, Eucheuma denticulatum | cottonii, spinosum; Philippines, Indonesia, Tanzania; kappa- and iota-carrageenan | no peer-reviewed figure found | lead, on one study at 2.05 mg/kg | same rows | almost everything |
| Gracilaria | seamoss in St Lucia; agar | 106–197 (Indonesian farms) | lead, on an estuary farm maximum of 6.6 mg/kg | same rows | metals in Caribbean lots |
The working rule is this. Take one dried lot. Establish which seaweed it is, measure iodine and the four metals on it, and record the dry-matter content of the gel made from it. Every question in this article comes back to those numbers.
How to read the result itself, including the limit of quantification and the measurement uncertainty, is covered in Part 3 of the Heavy Metals series. The kelp figures that sea moss is compared with here are in Part 7. The tests themselves, with prices, are on the seaweed testing page, and the order form is on the analytical services page.
Seaweed testing from NorrChemica
Our seaweed testing page lists the tests for sea moss and other algae with their prices: lead, cadmium, mercury and arsenic by ICP-MS in an EU laboratory accredited to ISO/IEC 17025, iodine, species identification by DNA, moisture and water activity, ash, protein, microbiology, pesticide residues and radioactivity. Arsenic speciation and the polysaccharide profile are quoted on request. We report the measured value with its uncertainty, the method and the reporting limit. You send the sample. We arrange the shipping and customs process in both directions. Anyone can order. You do not need to be a company.
Order your test → Seaweed testing: tests and prices Analytical services Part 1: the EU levels Part 2: lead in wine, beer and spirits Part 3: reading the report Part 4: powders and bee products Part 5: tablets and capsules Part 6: hemp and derivatives Part 7: botanicals Part 8: five marketsSources
- Commission Regulation (EU) 2023/915 on maximum levels for certain contaminants in food, consolidated text of 8 October 2025: Article 2(3); Annex I rows 3.1.28 (food supplements, lead), 3.2.21.1 and 3.2.21.2 (food supplements, cadmium, with the 80 % seaweed entry), 3.3.2 (food supplements, mercury); subsection 3.4 (arsenic), which has no row for seaweed or supplements; rows 3.6.8.1 and 3.6.8.2 (seaweed and wakame, nickel) with their remark on dry and fresh seaweed. EUR-Lex
- Commission Regulation (EU) 2024/1987 amending Regulation (EU) 2023/915 as regards maximum levels of nickel in certain foodstuffs. EUR-Lex
- Commission Regulation (EU) 2025/1891 of 17 September 2025 amending Regulation (EU) 2023/915 as regards maximum levels of inorganic arsenic in fish and other seafood; applies from 8 October 2025. EUR-Lex
- Assimilated Commission Regulation (EC) No 1881/2006, Annex, Section 3 (Metals): rows 3.1.22 (lead), 3.2.21 and 3.2.22 (cadmium), 3.3.3 (mercury); subsection 3.5, inorganic arsenic, rice products only. legislation.gov.uk
- Commission Recommendation (EU) 2018/464 on the monitoring of metals and iodine in seaweed, halophytes and products based on seaweed. EUR-Lex
- European Food Safety Authority, Overview on tolerable upper intake levels as derived by the Scientific Committee on Food and the EFSA NDA Panel, summary report, version 11, August 2025: iodine, 600 µg a day for adults. EFSA
- Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung, Stellungnahme Nr. 044/2026 of 5 August 2026, on binding iodine maximum levels in algae (in German). BfR
- ANSES, Opinion on "maximum cadmium levels for seaweed intended for human consumption", Request No 2017-SA-0070, 21 July 2020 (English version), Table 3: maximum values for trace elements and iodine in seaweed used as a vegetable or condiment, as recommended by the Conseil supérieur d'hygiène publique de France, in mg/kg dry matter. ANSES
- Commission Directive 2009/10/EC amending Directive 2008/84/EC laying down specific purity criteria on food additives: specifications for E 407 carrageenan and E 407a processed Eucheuma seaweed. The same specifications are now carried in Regulation (EU) No 231/2012; the figures were read in the 2009 text. EUR-Lex
- European Commission, Food and Feed Information Portal, Novel Food Status Catalogue (database version 5.8.0), read on 18 September 2026: entries for Chondrus crispus Stackhouse 1797 ("not novel in food", latest update 11 December 2024), Eucheuma denticulatum (N.L.Burman) Collins & Hervey 1917 ("not novel in food supplements", 1 February 2024), Gracilaria gracilis (Stackhouse) Steentoft, L.M.Irvine & Farnham 1995 ("not novel in food supplements", 12 February 2024), Gracilaria verrucosa and Gracilariopsis longissima ("not novel in food"); searches for Kappaphycus alvarezii, Eucheuma cottonii and the genus Kappaphycus returned no records. European Commission
- Nordic Council of Ministers (2022). A Nordic approach to food safety risk management of seaweed for use as food. TemaNord 2022:564, chapter 3, Table 3, Nordic data on heavy metals and iodine in seaweed, mg/kg dry weight. Nordic Council
- Aakre, I., Solli, D.D., Markhus, M.W., Mæhre, H.K., Dahl, L., Henjum, S., Alexander, J., Korneliussen, P.-A., Madsen, L., Kjellevold, M. (2021). Commercially available kelp and seaweed products – valuable iodine source or risk of excess intake? Food & Nutrition Research 65, 7584. Ninety-six products from the Norwegian market; the "Irish moss or carrageen moss" figure is one product in Table 4, reported in µg/g of the original sample, wet weight. Food & Nutrition Research
- Purwaningsih, S., Ramadhan, W., Nabila, W.T., Deskawati, E., Baabud, H.M. (2024). Dataset on the chemical composition and bioactive compound of estuarine seaweed Gracilaria from four different cultivation area in Java and Lombok Island, Indonesia. Data in Brief 56, 110825. Three samples per site. Data in Brief
- Kim, J.K., Kraemer, G.P., Yarish, C. (2019). Evaluation of the metal content of farm grown Gracilaria tikvahiae and Saccharina latissima from Long Island Sound and New York Estuaries. Algal Research. Table 5 maxima. NOAA repository
- Ajik, K.O., Tahiluddin, A. (2024). Proximate composition and heavy metal content of edible seaweed from Kappaphycus alvarezii and Caulerpa cf. macrodisca ecad corynephora. Akademik Gıda 22(1), 43–50. Table 2; samples from the Bongao public market, washed and dried in a solar dryer, measured by flame atomic absorption after dry ashing; the paper does not state a dry- or wet-weight basis. Akademik Gıda
- Todorov, T.I., Wolle, M.M., Conklin, S.D. (2022). Distribution of 26 major and trace elements in edible seaweeds from the US market. Chemosphere 294, 133651. US Food and Drug Administration, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition. Read in abstract and introduction only. Chemosphere
- Guillén, P.O., Motti, P., Mangelinckx, S., De Clerck, O., Bossier, P., Van Den Hende, S. (2022). Valorization of the chemical diversity of the tropical red seaweeds Acanthophora and Kappaphycus and their applications in aquaculture: a review. Frontiers in Marine Science 9, 957290. Table 1, in which the row is labelled "sulfated polysaccharide". Frontiers
- Tanoeiro, J.R., Fortunato, D., Cotas, J., Morais, T., Afonso, C., Pereira, L. (2023). Different Chondrus crispus aquaculture methods and carrageenan extraction. Applied Sciences 13(9), 5466. MDPI
- Smith, A.H., Nichols, K., McLachlan, J. (1984). Cultivation of seamoss (Gracilaria) in St. Lucia, West Indies. Hydrobiologia 116, 249–251. Springer. Smith, A. (1986). Seamoss farming in Saint Lucia: from research to reality. Caribbean Conservation News 4(6), 7–8, FAO AGRIS record. FAO AGRIS
- McHugh, D.J. (2003). A guide to the seaweed industry. FAO Fisheries Technical Paper 441, FAO, Rome. Chapter 2, seaweeds used as a source of agar (Gelidium and Gracilaria) FAO; chapter 6, seaweeds used as a source of carrageenan: trade names, Chondrus crispus harvest areas, Table 7 harvest figures for 2001 FAO; chapter 7, carrageenan: the carrageenan type of each seaweed FAO
- Marine Institute (2022). Socio-Economic Study of Seaweed Harvesting in Ireland. Clean Technology Centre and Circular Bioeconomy Research Group, Munster Technological University, with Benton Ecological Solutions and Technology; financed by the Irish Government and the European Maritime and Fisheries Fund 2014–2020. Table 3.1, seaweeds harvested in Ireland in 2020 in wet tonnes, and Table 3.2, "Chondrus c./Mastocarpus s.": 37.5 wet tonne equivalent at €1,500 per tonne. Marine Institute
- Scottish Government, Marine Directorate (2016). Wild seaweed harvesting: strategic environmental assessment, environmental report, 22 November 2016, section 3: carragheens (Mastocarpus stellatus and Chondrus crispus) harvested by hand; Chondrus crispus harvesting locations Fife, Caithness (Ham to Scarfskerry), Loch Sunart, Ardnamurchan and Bute. Scottish Government. Scotland's Marine Assessment 2020, "Seaweed harvesting and cultivation": carragheens among the species hand-harvested in smaller volumes than egg wrack. Scottish Government
- Rayment, W., Pizzola, P., reviewed by Kraan, S. Carrageen (Chondrus crispus). Marine Life Information Network (MarLIN), Marine Biological Association: distribution on all British and Irish coasts; harvested commercially in Ireland, Spain, France, Portugal and North America for the extraction of carrageenan. MarLIN
About this article
We read the full texts of sources 1 to 5, 7 to 15, 17, 18 and 20 to 23 on 17 and 18 September 2026, source 6 in EFSA's summary report, and source 19 in the publisher's record and the FAO AGRIS record. Source 16 was read in abstract and introduction only; its per-species figures are not on this page for that reason. The novel-food statuses were read in the Novel Food Status Catalogue itself, entry by entry, on 18 September 2026. The French figures are recommendations of the Conseil supérieur d'hygiène publique de France as reproduced by ANSES. Two small studies of Kappaphycus and Eucheuma from the Philippines and India were read and not used, as explained in section 4. The conversions in sections 2 and 6 are arithmetic from stated assumptions and are not limits set by any authority. This article is not legal advice and does not assess any particular product. We will date future revisions.
© 2026 NorrChemica™ · Content may not be reproduced without written permission